Home > Labour > My 1 criticism on Rory Weal

My 1 criticism on Rory Weal


Rory Weal, the 16 year old who got up in front of Labour conference and told the world that he and his family had relied on the welfare state during a period of financial difficulty was incredibly brave for doing what he did.

Today the Mail and the Telegraph have attacked him for being from a privileged background.

They forget that this is exactly why the welfare state was created. To help those regardless of background when they fall on hard times.

My one criticism is that he seems to think that despite being back on their feet (living in a £300,000  house is what I class back on their feet) thinks that he still needs EMA! Despite living in a £300,000 house, owning an iPad which a lot of people can’t afford, it seemed like he was claiming that he still needed EMA in order to get to school and to get the required textbooks, paper, stationery etc. he needed for school.

Its this that makes me think that its he who is out of touch with ordinary people. That it was right for the coalition to replace EMA with something that targeted the people who really needed it.

Categories: Labour
  1. October 9, 2011 at 23:49

    Your written piece, My 1 criticism on Rory Weal Nic Prigg's Blog, really made me stop and think this matter. Not only was it well conceived but very interesting as well. I have added your site to my link roll and will be back to read future articles.

  2. October 10, 2011 at 01:15

    I agree with you completely on this issue and enjoyed perusing your thoughts here in your blog. I have bookmarked your blog and look forward to coming back for more.

  1. October 6, 2011 at 12:37

Leave a Reply

